Best Tips for Freelance Writers

Best Tips for Freelance Writers

By Debi Rideout

Being a freelance writer has some really wonderful perks, but it can also be a really challenging profession. There are some useful tips that can come in handy to know before you decide to make freelance writing a career. As in any job it helps to know what kind of field you are getting yourself into. The more insight you have, the better you will do. Here are the five best tips for freelance writers:

Beginning

I have been a freelance writer for many years, and the advice I always give to others who are thinking about becoming a freelance writer is to write what you know about. If you write about something that you are really passionate about it is easier to see if you have any real talent or not for writing. Writing should not just be about a paycheck. It should be something that you care about. The longer you are a writer the easier it will be to write anything that your editor or boss demands. In the beginning though, write about the topics that interest you.

Chose Type

There are many different types of freelance writing you can choose to do. My choice of expertise is article writing. Try your hand on various types of freelance writing work. Once you find your favorites stick with those. It will be easier to get work once you know what type of work you are looking for.

Writer’s Guidelines

Always play by the rules. Most companies that you work for have their own writer’s guidelines. Before you even begin working for a company read their writer’s guidelines. For example, some writer’s guidelines can include word count and key phrases. Make sure you know what is expected of you as a writer. Otherwise, you will be wasting your time on a piece if it is not done correctly.

Go Local

When I first started my freelance writing profession I went local. I looked at the publications that were being printed in my local area. Then I wrote to the editors of these local publications, and I sent them my clips of work. This got my work into local magazines and newspapers. Once I was published in these types of venues my freelance writing career really took off. So, try looking at your local area and see if there are any writing projects that you can do.

Know Your Worth

If you believe in your writing talent as a freelance writer, then know your worth. Many publications want you to write for very little money. Do not fall for that. If you are a good writer, then write for publications that can pay you real money especially if you really want to make it in the freelance writing profession. It is okay to start off small, but just make sure you end it big. You can do it. Freelance writing is a wonderful career to have.

5 thoughts on “Best Tips for Freelance Writers

  1. Great post. I believe knowing your worth to be the most important of those points, not just in writing, but in life. It can work both ways, we are brought up in a society that teaches us at a very early age how to best delude ourselves from the truth. Some think they are worth more than they are, and others the opposite, talented as can be, but taking the pay cut.

    Erik
    http://erikconover.com/

  2. Thank you for posting this, I’ve been thinking about trying my hand at this to earn some income on the side of my studies and I believe this may be a good route.

Leave a comment